Kara with a sticker mustache at Steak 'n' Shake

Steak ‘n’ Shake (Irving, TX)

Okay, I’ve eaten at a bunch of places since moving here to Irving. I’m at the point where I struggle between eating somewhere I know is good and somewhere that may be even better. Irving is known as one of the most boring cities in America, and they literally took “number of fast-food chains” into account in the process. Fortunately for me, I’m boring and I like fast food, so this place works out pretty well for me.

In any case, I’m starting my reviews of local restaurants to help me keep track of the places I like to eat most (and give me an excuse to eat at places I really liked the first time).

The first place I started taking pictures with the family was Steak ‘n’ Shake, which was probably the last fast-food restaurant in the area we actually ended up trying.

Emoji review: 🍔🍟🍦🐔+🚚🎨-(🍦💵)=👍👍

The Garlic Double Steakburger and fries from Steak ‘n’ Shake (plus shakes in the background)
  • The pluses: It’s a great place to go with kids, especially if they need to be entertained. My three-year-old daughter got a cardboard thing that folded into a car, a set of stickers, crayons, and a menu to draw on. Typically just having a menu is great; all this other stuff was amazing. The food was inexpensive – you can get your burger plus fries for $4. It was pretty tasty, too, although a little small. That makes sense, though, given the price. You could easily just double up and get two double burgers and two orders of fries for a mere $8 if you skip the shake and just get water. Fries were thin and crispy, just like I like ’em. The shake was delicious.
  • The minuses: The food was small and my specific order, the Garlic Double Steakburger, was assaulted by garlic salt. Think Domino’s “new” (I know it’s not new anymore, but it’s their most recent iteration) garlic crust, and make it a little more garlic salty. That’s my fault, though, since it delivers exactly what it promised in the description on the menu. And my wife loved it, as she is a big fan of garlic salt. Shakes seem to be where they make their profit, as the shake was $3.95 on its own.

I ordered a shake because I honestly felt like I was ripping them off by getting 2 double burgers, 2 orders of fries, a chicken tenders kids’ meal, and an order of mac ‘n’ cheese for what would’ve been about $12. But now that I’ve considered it a little more, I’d definitely just do two meals for myself and skip the shake if I were to return. I could get through the $4 menu faster that way, too, discovering the best version of their inexpensive burgers.

