Taco Naan (Coppell, TX)

Man can’t subsist on hamburgers and pizza alone – even just for the occasions where he’s dining out.

With that in mind, I went to lunch with Michael again and we explored Belt Line as opposed to MacArthur, our usual street of choice for restaurants (lunch break logistics limit options). Michael likes Indian food; I had been lamenting the lack of tacos in my reviews, so when I saw Taco Naan appear in the list of local restaurants, I knew it was where we needed to be.

Emoji review:  🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮🌮 > 💐

Let’s hit the negatives first, since those are the first things you face at Taco Naan. Ambiance? No. You get cheap banquet chairs and tables. Don’t worry about that, though, they’ll make it up to you. The other negative is that there was one person on one register and that person also has to handle call-in orders. The place is busy at lunch time, so you can get a pretty long line. If you have a half-hour lunch, you’re not going to make it. If you have an hour, you’ll want to either call ahead or work nearby.

The cashier was friendly when I got to the register, the menu had plenty of tantalizing options, and the prices meant I could try lots of them. I started off with two tacos, a burrito, a naan taco with chicken 65, and a soda. Yes, that’s something I “started off” with.

TacoNaanDineIn
My opening course at Taco Naan.

The chicken 65 was not what I’d had at Adisil; they add some heat with jalapenos. I’m no fan of those, but the naan prevented the taco from getting overwhelmed and I enjoyed it. The burrito was good, but unremarkable, and the beef and barbacoa tacos were delicious.

Most importantly, however, it was Wednesday, which means $1 tacos. (They also advertise $1 tacos from 3-6 p.m. daily). That’s how I ended up with the photo taken as the profile picture. At $1/taco, I ordered all of the traditional tacos, plus a paneer taco (I did not get the Yelp-popular chicken curry or chicken 65 one, which I will eat next time).

After going through the rest of the taco menu, I’m glad I started off with the beef and barbacoa, which were the two best traditional options. And given that I got a dozen tacos, a burrito, a naan taco and a soda for a total of about $22 including tax, I wouldn’t have been too upset even if they weren’t great.

Taco Naan is mostly-traditional Mexican food done well and inexpensively. There are a couple of Indian food options, but don’t expect a full menu. What matters here is that good tacos are a damn dollar on Wednesdays, and most are $1.49 at full price.

Save money on flowers; get someone you love a dozen tacos from Taco Naan (they don’t have to know you got yourself a dozen as well).

