Dutch’s Hamburgers (Fort Worth, TX)

Hooray! I had a great opportunity to visit Fort Worth again recently and my trip brought me right into Dutch’s neighborhood. I vowed to attack this restaurant the next time I was in town and I lived up to that promise for you, my readers*.

Emoji review: 🍔 = 👌, 🍟 = 🆗, 🅿 = 🙅🏻, overall 🍔🍔🍔🍔👀

Sure, there’s no parking nearby, especially when TCU is in session. I’m blessed with functioning legs and like to take advantage of them when possible, so I parked a couple blocks away on the street and walked over. The walk even made me feel a little better about the calories I was going to consume.

I did, in fact, tackle the Linebacker, the double cheeseburger option on the menu (the cheese is draped over the second patty and the bacon in the photo). As other reviewers seem to say, the bun is what really makes the burgers – it’s sweet but not overly so. It reminds me of King’s Hawaiian rolls but it’s a bit heartier, capable of standing up to a pound of hamburger (maybe “only” 2/3 of a pound?) plus toppings without falling apart. The meat was good and fresh. The bacon was well-cooked; not too chewy or crispy. All in all, it was a magnificent experience and for the first time in a while, something I was really excited about was every bit as good as promised.

The fries are okay – it just doesn’t feel right eating a burger without fries, so they were a necessary addition, and there wasn’t anything wrong with them…they just weren’t what the burger was (and let’s be fair, no fries could hope to be).

The restaurant was also everything I like in a place – unpretentious, comfortable booth seating, easy to find a table even when it’s pretty busy, and you can refill your own drinks. If you’re in the TCU area and you want a burger, you should go to Dutch’s, even if you can’t find a parking spot. Just make sure you bring an extra shirt and tie if you have an important meeting afterwards – things could get messy.

*Okay, I mostly did it for me because…well, look at that picture again.

