MOOYAH Burgers, Fries, & Shakes (Allen, TX)

I didn’t plan on going to MOOYAH. I was in Allen to catch a Champions Indoor Football league game and catch up with some old friends, as the San Angelo Bandits were in town to play the Texas Revolution. After an extra 40 minutes worth of traffic beyond the bloated time Google gave me to get to the game, I didn’t have much time to search the area and MOOYAH happened to appear while I was walking around.

Emoji review: 📑, then 🍔🍟🍟🍟🍟🍟 

My lack of preparation was evident in my burger selection. I went with a regular double cheeseburger with lettuce and tomato, a simple request after having been surprised with the “what do you want on it?” question. Only after I finished ordering did I notice that I could have had bacon for an extra 75 cents. And crispy onion straws were available for free! Oh, how I lamented my menu-reading skills.

There was evidently some order confusion in the back as well – as I waited for my meal, an employee walked around with a large tray of fries asking if I’d ordered them (and doing the same for everyone else). I did offer to take them off his hands if no one else claimed them, but alas, someone else actually claimed the food they paid for. After eating my small order of fries (yes, the picture above is a small order although the burger is no slider), I realized that a large order would have been even better.

So while the food was overall very tasty, my trip to MOOYAH will remain a wistful memory of what might have been. I’d basically call MOOYAH Five Guys with better fries. The seasoning on them is great and they’re not mushy. The “small” fries go a long way, the burgers are very customizable, and they’re similarly priced.

