Whataburger (Irving, TX)

Whataburger is the second restaurant my family and I ate at when we moved to Irving last year, yet I never took a photo of the food! We arrived at the right time in 2015 – the Sweet & Spicy burger (above) was on the menu, our cashier was super nice and helpful when we informed him that we’d just moved to Texas the day before, and everything was fresh off the grill/out of the fryer.

Emoji review: πŸ¬πŸŒΆπŸ”,πŸ’―; no πŸ¬πŸŒΆπŸ”, πŸ™…

Whataburger dies to me each year when the Sweet & Spicy burger leaves the menu – it’s the only sandwich I’ll go out of my way for. The sauce is amazing. Two patties is a perfect amount of beef. Two different cheeses? Yes, please. I’m not a big fan of onions, but grilled onions are OK by me. Bacon and mustard round out the ingredients – no need to bother with silly things like vegetables.

Other offerings are typical fast food fare, which leaves their spicy ketchup as the hook that pulls you back into the restaurant. It’s great, and of course I get it every time I go, but I don’t find it enough to keep me coming back.

Kara enthusiastically recommends the Whatachicken Bites kids’ meal. The kids’ meals are nice in that they come with fries and a cookie or fruit snacks, but no toys! I’m fine with this, as it’s a good way to avoid filling her room with more cheap junk, but obviously it’s of note if you’re planning on getting something for the kids.

