Lolo’s Chicken and Waffles (Southlake, TX)

I grew up on the West Coast, where there aren’t many establishments offering chicken and waffles as a meal. I heard about them for a while when I got older, but never had the opportunity to try it as a meal until I went to a Dave and Buster’s in San Jose, and they were pretty amazing; I’ve been hunting for them (on the rare occasion I seek breakfast in a restaurant) since.

Emoji review: 🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢, πŸ’£πŸ”πŸ³πŸž

LolosBiscuitsandGravy

So when I discovered Lolo’s Chicken and Waffles had a location right across the street from Gateway Church in Southlake, that seemed like a good spot to head after the service (My favorite thing is stopping into places that I want to eat at “since we happen to be in the area”).

The first time I considered going, I tried to set it up after a late-morning service so we’d eat at a more traditional meal time of noonish. That does not work at Lolo’s Chicken and Waffles; if you try to get there anywhere near a meal time, you will find yourself in a parking lot with no vacant spaces, perhaps choosing to park a half mile away so you can wait outside in a long line. We chose to skip it that weekend and try again after an earlier service. It turns out 10:30 or so is a good time to get in – the parking lot is still almost full, but you can actually find a table.

Once you order properly (my wife is great at many things, but knowing the right thing to order at a restaurant is not one of them), it’s easy to understand why the lines are so long. It’s freakin’ chicken and waffles. Fried chicken? Great. Waffles? Who doesn’t like waffles? YOU CAN’T REALLY SCREW THIS UP, RESTAURANT OWNERS. GET CHICKEN AND WAFFLES ON YOUR MENUS.

The biscuits and gravy that my wife ordered weren’t as great – everywhere else we’ve been, breakfast gravy is creamy and you can taste regular black pepper and sausage…at Lolo’s it has bell peppers in it, which makes it…different. By the time I got used to it (I had to trade dishes with her as she’s allergic to bell peppers), it was okay, but it wasn’t my cup of tea (or cup of gravy, if you will). The biscuits were amazing, though. I would order six trays of the biscuits and just put butter and/or honey and/or jam on them.

Other things at Lolo’s that intrigue me and make me want to go back:

  • Oreo Pancakes
  • Red Velvet Pancakes
  • Waffle Breakfast Sammich (as it’s called on the menu)

In short, if you are diabetic, don’t go here. If you are on a diet, you should not go here. If you want to go all Cookie Monster on some chicken and waffles, though, Lolo’s is a good choice.