Zaxby’s (The Colony, TX)

I scored some free tickets to the Heart of Dallas Bowl in 2016 thanks to my cousin, who works for the Dallas PD. My dad, who was in town for the holidays, went to the game between the University of Washington and Southern Mississippi and Zaxby’s promotions were everywhere (they were the bowl’s title sponsor, so sensibly so).

Emoji review: ๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ™, ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿค—

With that in mind, I decided to give ’em a few bucks as a thanks for the free football game and check out a new restaurant when I was picking my wife up from work (there happens to be a Zaxby’s a couple blocks away).

When we went in, the place was pretty empty; when we left it was completely empty. The one employee we saw, we didn’t see for a while – they have this little break room-type area where employees can kinda hide out when there’s nothing really to be done and see if there are customers, but no one was looking through. It gave us time to check out the menu, though, and by the time we’d decided what we wanted to eat, our chicken guide had appeared at the counter. Not a great impression, but eh, we’re not picky.

We ordered a couple of Zaxby’s Club Sandwiches. The presentation (above) wouldn’t win any awards, but I don’t think I’ve seen any award-winning plastic plate decor. The super-buttery bread was great – I had to wipe my hands a bunch after I was done, but that’s how you know it’s good. The crinkle-cut fries had tasty seasoning salt that made me want more (fries, not salt).

All in all, a decent experience despite the weird feeling of eating by yourself in a fast-food restaurant in not-unreasonable dining hours (about 7 p.m.). The restaurant had lively decorations although it was a little dark inside for a summer’s evening. All in all, Zaxby’s is a solid place worthy of your fast-food dollar.

