Riff Raff Brewing Company (Pagosa Springs, CO)

burgerplacecoloradomenuOn our last full day in Colorado (let’s not pretend that waking up at 6 a.m. to get on the road back to Texas counts as any time spent in the state), we finally ventured into downtown Pagosa Springs. That’s where we discovered the downtown sulphur scent from the hot springs and that you really wouldn’t want to hang out in certain spots (again, no threat of crime…just that smell).

Upwind of that area a bit was Riff Raff Brewing Company.

Emoji review: πŸ‘πŸ”, πŸ•˜, πŸ•ΆπŸ‘œ (pretend that’s a bowling ball bag)

Riff Raff’s got jokes. Like one of my professors in EWU’s film program, they also seemed to be fans of The Big Lebowski (I didn’t think about it until now, but I wonder if they ever played the Eagles’ music in there?). I had the Big Lambowski burger, since, well, that burger looked good. The aioli and cucumber feta relish really made it a nice, unique burger that tasted great…but all in all, I think I’d rather have a gyro.

Riff Raff’s also has beer flights, one of which I consumed. I chose four beers, ranging from IPA to stout, and found them all to be pretty tasty. I’d have purchased a growler to go if I’d had more time and wouldn’t be making our party of seven wait who-knows-how-long to find someone who would fill it for us (the place was swamped with people).

The place had a 45-minute wait and a nice patio area that seemed like it would’ve been fun to participate in, but it was also nice to just enter ourselves on the list, then check out some nearby stores before peeking back in to see if they were ready to seat us. It’s in an excellent location close enough to downtown to bring people in, but away from the terrible smell of the creek.

