Empa Mundo (Irving, TX)

Sometimes I don’t need burgers, despite what it may seem from the blog. Sometimes I may need to check out the No. 1 ranked restaurant in the city via Travelocity, a 4.9/5.0 on Google reviews, an all-in-all beloved cheap eats joint.

Empa Mundo serves empanadas. If you don’t like fried pies filled with food, then a) you’re wrong, and b) you’re not going to like Empa Mundo. Since I didn’t know how often I’d have an opportunity to get back, I ordered six of ’em on my trip. I’ll review each of ’em below. Again, decor isn’t anything particularly special, but I don’t care about decor – I’m here to eat.

Emoji review: 5๐Ÿ–๐Ÿž+๐Ÿ ๐Ÿž=๐Ÿ‘ผ

Chilipanzingas: On the one hand, it was good. On the other hand, it’s probably best eaten by people who are better capable of handling spicy food than me.

Chicken: It was probably good, but I still wasn’t able to taste after the chilipanzingas.

Chorizo: Still recovering. But regaining taste and hey, I see theย reason this place is well-liked.

Texas Brisket: Welp, yep, gimme more of these. Sweetish, and who doesn’t like brisket? I should’ve saved this for last, I think as I finish it.

Criolla: Yeah, it’s all-meat empanadas; I’m not paying $2.50 per pie to NOT have meat in it. This one was also really good. Who knew raisins went so well in meat pies?

Camote: Okay, I had to have a dessert pie. Now shhhh, no more words. More miniature sweet potato pies.